2004-10-07

Quickie

Another blah day in Kellville. Not a whole lot going on. The girls wore me out last night at the GS meeting. They are so rowdy and just don't seem to know how to settle down and listen. I really am spoiled with my kid. She sits still, pays attention, can repeat the things I say... the other girls are a mix of immaturity (belching, farting) and ADD (bouncing off the walls for no reason). Being a new troop, I haven't yet asserted my authority. We're going to work on this.

The mascot journal was a really great idea. The first entry was SO creative and wonderful. The idea is that each girl takes turns taking our mascot home (a stuffed Pegasus) and then writes about what they did. The first girl did her entry like a scrapbook and even glued in pictures and stuff. It was great!

We're getting ready to start our first service project. It's not really a money raising effort. Instead we accrue points that can be redeemed for prizes later on. The prizes range from playground equipment to office supplies. We then will donate what we earn to a local charity or organization. We're doing this by recycling used cell phones and printer cartridges. The company we are working with supplies us with the collection boxes and they pay for shipping. It takes a lot of cartridges to earn points, but it's helping the environment at the same time.

My bank account was stretched again this week. I have to run to the bank at lunch and make a deposit so nothing else bounces. I hate it when I have a positive balance, but it's not available yet. You would think they would take into consideration that the money is there... but they don't. Oh well.

Tonight I get to go to the grocery store, as well. We haven't had groceries for two weeks now. I sometimes wonder how the heck I make it from week to week. Thank God she gets to eat a good breakfast and lunch at school. Which reminds me, I need to add some money to her account :)

That's about it for now. I have more to say, but I'll have to do it later.

kellbelle at 10:59 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next