2006-01-19

A place for me

I decided to take the good cough medicine last night (the stuff with codeiene) because sleep has been hell recently. I no longer have the raspy breath of someone with emphazema, but at night just one little bit of phlem can send me coughing hard enough to wet the bed. So I took the good stuff. Guess what? I didn't cough ALL night. Guess what else? I didn't sleep very well all night. But I'm up early and I took Aubrey to school today. She was happy about that and it leaves me several hours to prepare for my first class. I can reread some parts that were recommended we know better before class starts.

Carl and Aubrey have been doing a project together this whole week. I just haven't had the time to help out, but I really wanted it to be the two of them working on it anyway. For music class Aubrey had to make an instrument. She wanted to make a shoebox guitar with rubber bands or rhythm sticks. Now I know that almost every kid will have a rubber band guitar, so I suggested she try something different. Carl came up with the idea of making a didgeridoo. For those of you that don't know, a didgeridoo is an instrument from Australia made by the natives there.

We made it from PVC pipe, beeswax, a heat gun, a bolt and some spray paint. This is the near final result.

We have one coat of paint left to do and then some fine detailing to make it look a little nicer. Initially we wanted to make it look like wood, but we have seen several that were decorated, so we're going to do something with orange today after school I think. It's due tomorrow so we need to finish it up tonight.

I'm really loving school. The only class that I'm somewhat worried about is history. We are starting out from the Reconstruction (Civil War) and moving forward. I know almost nothing about this time. I really took no interest in school because my ancestors didn't get here until about 1900! LOL But I need to find some interest because it's a pretty detailed class. So far I have 9 papers to write this semester. Blegh! They aren't all that hard and some are really opinion pieces and a few are things that I can steal from my diary. It's just the idea of writing 9 papers I guess.

Human development is going to be an interesting class. I have to write three papers alone for that class, but that is the class I can steal from my diary! I have to write papers about myself and, following development patters from the textbook, write about what made me the person I am today. The first papers is on being a baby/adolescent, the second is on puberty to adulthood, and the third is on mid-life or late life. I guess I'm old enough to almost consider that I'm mid-life, but we can also interview someone to write about the late life paper. Carl has some very interesting grandparents, so I thought it might be fun to interview them and see how their lives are different now than they were when they were my age.

All in all I feel really excited about my choice to become a social worker. I really had some doubts before school started, but sitting in my Intro to SW class yesterday, I was very excited to hear my prof talk about why he became a social worker. We're going to have lots of guest speakers and a field trip to different agencies to see our options. I also have to do 30 hours of community service at an agency, so I'm kind of excited to see what that is like as well. One thing I've heard is that there is never a dull moment being a social worker and that's what I like to hear.

I'm the kind of person who needs different things coming at me at different times. I love people, I love talking to and helping people. I think I've finally found where I belong.

kellbelle at 7:34 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

2 comments so far

previous | next