2006-08-24

Better Than Nothing

We got the call from the carpet place and Carl and I about shit our pants when they told us how much it was going to cost. $2,300 for two small rooms and a small hallway. I guess they are charging for the moving of furniture, tearing up the carpet and hauling it away. We have to go out to Lowe's to sign the papers before they do anything anyway, so we'll check out what all the charges are for. I'm sure they are charging us for the premium pad instead of just the regular pad.

Not much planned for today. Probably a bit more Girl Scout planning... trying to get some field trips for the year in order. I also think we're going to do an Adopt A Spot with the City of Denton. They don't collect along highways or anything and they supply us with the reflective vests, trash bags and trash pickers. I think it would be good for the girls to get out once a month and pick up trash. They even put a little sign up with our troop name.

We're also planning a trip to the recycling center here locally as well as the area recycling center. Apparently it's pretty cool how they sort everything. You get to walk through the facility from where the materials arrive all the way through to where they are sorted and shipped out.

Another trip I want to do is to the Police Station. I want them to see a breathalizer and maybe get locked in a cell or something. heh I'd really like to take them to the juvenile detention center (to scare them) but Carl said that might be a little too harsh.

There is also a fire station about a block from here that I thought might be fun to take the girls to visit. When I was in Girl Scouts we got to see a Ressussi-Annie... the doll they use to train people on mouth-to-mouth and CPR. That might be fun if this station has one of those.

So that's what's going through my mind today. Exciting stuff huh? I suppose it's better than nothing.

kellbelle at 8:50 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next