2006-12-07

Jim's Passing

Well, Aubrey's horse died early this morning. I haven't told her yet because I didn't want her to go all the way through school feeling bad. Her trainer sent me an email this morning and I bawled my eyes out and then had to pretend that everything was okay until I could get out of the house.


Ode to Jim

Don't cry for the horses
That life has set free
A million horses
Forever to be
Don't cry for the horses
Now in God's hands
As they dance and they prance
To a heavenly band
They were ours to borrow
But never to keep
As they close their eyes
Forever to sleep
Their spirits unbound
On silver wings they fly
A million bays, blacks, greys, horses of all colors Against a blue sky Look up into heaven You'll see them above The horses we lost The horses we loved Manes and tails flying They gallop through time They were never yours They were never mine Don't cry for the horses They will be back some day When our time has come They will show us the way Do you hear that soft nicker Close to your ear Don't cry for the horses Love the ones that are here

By Brenda Riley Seymore


It is said that a human is blessed to have owned one good horse in their lifetime. I have had many good horses come into my life. I must be blessed.

Jim came to us full of life and searching for a job. That 25 yr old horse was not ready for retirement. Not many riders could tame his feisty spirit. As I searched for riders, Jim seeked out his rider. Aubrey was his girl. He loved her and always gave her the best of rides from the arena to the show ring. He shined for her right up to his last loving ride. I retired Jim on Tuesday, and told him all about the wonderful 153 acres he would be king to. I guess Jim was not ready for retirement. Keeping to his feisty spirit he chose his retirement.

Jim passed away early this morning.


Please keep Aubrey in your prayers. She will be devastated.

kellbelle at 11:25 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

4 comments so far

previous | next