2005-03-16

Sadness

I was browsing the newspaper of my hometown. I went to the obits to look to see if I knew anyone that had died. I haven't looked at my hometown newspaper (let alone the obits) since my dad passed away. And I was shocked to find that I did know someone. I knew the someone very well.

Joyce was like a mother to me when I was in high school. My own folks were a little distant and probably tired from the 7 other kids they had raised. I took to Joyce like a duck to water. She was fun and loving and everything I wanted a mom to be. Joyce was my Confirmation sponsor and was the matron of honor at my wedding. Joyce was a very special and loving woman and I believe it was her hand that guided me today to that page. If I had not read that, I never would have known of her passing until probably at Christmas by the lack of a greeting card. Our relationship has been distant for a while, but only because of the actual distance. She has, and always will be, a mother to me. I am so sad to learn of her passing this way.

Joyce, I love you. I have always looked up to you and turned to you in times of great need and in great joy. You know of all my heart aches. Of all my joys and sufferings. I knew so little of yours. But I have loved you as a mother. As a role model. As a woman that I hope someday I can be for my own daughter.

Her funeral is on Friday (the day after her husband's birthday). Please keep her and her family in your thoughts and prayers. I pray especially for her family. Joyce was such a special and wonderful woman... and most people don't know what they have until it's gone.

kellbelle at 12:09 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

2 comments so far

previous | next