2003-08-21

Scouting Nightmare

I'm not sure if I wrote about the Girl Scout Leader from Hell back during cookie sales time, but this woman just messed up for the last time.

Last winter, ballots were being cast for Outstanding Leaders in Girl Scouting. This leader had the gall to solicit votes. She sent a note home with all the parents saying "Vote for me! I'm a candidate for Outstanding Leader!!" First of all, these awards are supposed to be ANONYMOUS. Second of all, it's a CHARACTER VOTE. You do not SOLICIT votes!! I gagged when I got the newsletter and there was her name.

I had complained to the Tejas Council (our troop council) and they didn't even slap the woman on the wrist.

Now my friend Jana has been trying to get her daughter into the troop as a Brownie. In preparation, she even sent the girl to Brownie camp over the summer, got all the stuff and was all geared up to start this fall.

Ooooops! We're sorry but you can't join unless you're a Daisy Scout. Excuse me? She is 7 years old and has been to Brownie camp. Why would she want to be demoted??? Oh.. well we don't want a first year Brownie, sorry.

WEll this just pissed me off to no end. This woman is a dictator, not a leader. I wrote the council again. And OMG if they didn't send this leader my letter!! After I asked to remain ANONYMOUS!!! I couldn't believe it. So now I have to pull my kid out of that troop and find another one because I have caused a "riff" in the leadership. I am so unbelievably pissed it's not funny.

I talked to the kiddo about it tonight and she seems to understand. She wants to be a Brownie and continue with Girl Scouts. I sent off for information on being a leader next year. She'll be a Junior next year, and that's a fun age. That's when I started scouting. So I could be a troop leader! I dunno, what do you guys think? Am I over reacting about this woman? These are just a couple of the things she's done. To know her is to truly see her true colors. I don't just deal with her in Brownies. She's also one of the Assistant Coaches on the soccer team (another reason kiddo didn't want to play this year). I just don't know what else to do.

I'm pissed because all that cookie money she earned last year belongs to the troop, not to her. So if she leaves, none of it leaves with her. That's my only remaining hesitation at this point. I would just rather her be around adults that are in it for the kids and not in it for themselves. I'd appreciate your feedback.

kellbelle at 8:53 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next