2003-08-18

You Complete Me

I was watching Jerry McGuire the other day when I heard that line "You complete me." Not an entirely unromantic thing to say, but is it really realistic? Or even smart for that matter?

It seems dangerous to me to think that we must find "our other half" to be satisfied, safe or even fully self aware. The idea that we an never be completely fulfilled on our own... that we have to search outside of ourselves in order to be a whole person... that whole concept to me is just wrong.

When we have a great, solid relationship with another person... when we take them in to fill in all our blank spots, fill all the holes... sure that can enhance your life a lot. But then that means you also give them the power to withhold happiness, or to set conditions around it.

I can't believe how much a few months of being unemployed have taught me about myself. People have always told me that I'm strong, but I never saw it that way. Thank God for adversity. It can either send you crashing down, or it can build you up tall as a mountain. I feel pretty tall today.

kellbelle at 9:09 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next