2004-05-24

Weekend Update

Had a good weekend. I had off work on Friday and used the morning to get ready for my trip to Austin with Carl. When he got to the house, we packed the car up and hit the road. The trip was really quiet, he didn't talk much, but it wasn't an uncomfortable silence. I slept a little bit and we stopped for coffee and gas and he woke up a bit and got a little chattier :)

We got to his parents' house a couple hours before the concert. Shawn Colvin was great. The songs were all beautiful and she sounds the same live as she does on her albums. I really had a great time and even got to meet her after the show to get her autograph. I felt like such a dork talking to her, but she was very gracious and kind. We could have stayed for the second show, but I was tired and so instead, we went with Carl's sister and step-mom for an iced coffee. It was such a beautiful night.

We woke up Saturday and Carl and I drove down to his Pop and Mimi's house. They have a beautiful little house on about 35 acres. It was just such a nice day. We came back to Austin to go out to dinner with his sister and brother-in-law. Now I know I go on and on about how great Carl is...but the "man" showed up in him this weekend. I had put on a tank dress to wear out to dinner because it was hot and I forgot to pack shorts. He walks in and says "Are you going to wear that? You look like a grandma." I said "EXCUSE ME?" LOL Actually I wasn't laughing at the time. I proceeded to change and he knew I was upset. He felt so bad for upsetting me. He kept coming up to me trying to tell me that he was sorry. The final time he came behind me and put his arms around my neck and was just about crying. I know he didn't mean to upset me. I'm just a little oversensitive about my appearance I guess. Yes, I changed anyway and we had a good night after that.

When we got home from dinner, we chatting with the family and then headed off for bed. His step-mom had put us in separate rooms with a shared bathroom. Kind of silly if you ask me, but we put up with it. I was all settled in bed with the lights out when here comes Carl tip-toeing naked through the bathroom. LOL He says "Shhhhh be quiet!" LOL It was funny.

Sunday his step-mom had a convention to attend in Las Vegas, so we were back on the road by 11:30. We stopped at an outlet mall and did some shopping and then came home to find my car had a flat tire. :(

We put fix-a-flat in the tire and it seemed to be fine, but when I went to work this morning it was flat all the way to the rim. I had to call someone out to the house to fix it for me. So now I'm looking at another expense of a new set of tires since my car is 4 years old now. The money stuff never ends.

Well, I need to finish my lunch and get back to work.

kellbelle at 12:18 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next