2004-08-04

Cider with Chou Chou

Chou Chou was in town last night. I just saw her two weeks ago at her wedding, but obviously we didn't get to talk or visit a whole lot. OTHER people had her attention then, but last night she was a captive audience ;)

It was good to see her. I picked her up and we went for a drink until Carl and Aubrey could show up for dinner. We had a couple glasses of cider (okay I had a couple, she had one) and we visited for a long time. It was nice to have some meaningful conversation with someone who really knows me and whom I consider a friend. I didn't realize how few friends I really have these days.

Carl and Aubrey showed up and we went out for Chinese food. Aubrey is still talking about it. I think she likes hanging out with adults a lot more than she gives credit for. hehe Who can blame her with such cool adults to hang with?

I took Chou Chou to the airport and drove back to Denton. It turns out I beat Carl and Aubrey back to the apartment. I was worried. I called Carl on his cell phone and he kept saying "I'll tell you about it when I get there."....oooookay you are freaking me out. But he wouldn't tell me what happened. So for the next 15 minutes I had to sit there trying not to worry waiting for them to get home.

Carl looked severely stressed when he walked through the door. I sent Aubrey off to the shower and when Carl was sure she was out of earshot he told me that he had some car trouble. I asked him to please just tell me that next time so I don't sit there worrying about it. The car trouble was serious...but not serious in that they had bodily injuries or anything. LOL

To compound it, I had forgotten my cell phone, so he had no way of even telling me he had a problem. I had apparently passed them on the highway on my way home. I thought I saw his car, and I thought NO way can that be them...they should have already been home. OH well.

We are approaching another busy weekend. Saturday morning is the Girlscout kickoff meeting where Aubrey can decide if she wants to be in scouting this year or not. The nice thing is that it's tax free weekend and that includes uniforms, so if she decides she wants to do it, I will be saving some money on her uniform. Saturday afternoon is Carl's work pool party and then Saturday night Aubrey is going to spend the night with her friend in Mesquite.

Tonight we are going roller skating with Carl's friend from work and his kids. It should be fun.

Work is a little slow this morning and I'm having a really hard time getting going. I didn't sleep well. I had another dream about my father, but I don't remember it. And I must have been sleeping very lightly because it seemed every little noise in the house made me jump up wide awake.

kellbelle at 8:39 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next