2004-08-30

Weekend Update

It's been a bumpy ride the last few days. I am still sick, but getting much better. Thanks for all the get well wishes.

We went down to Houston this weekend and you'll never guess in a million years what we saw as we were looking for the park where the birthday party was. A KLAN rally. Yeah you read that right...a KLAN RALLY... as in THE Klan. There were guys in white sheets holding signs and Confederate flags and other people standing around chanting. I couldn't believe my eyes. Then of course, try explaining racial hatred to a 9 year old. That was fun.

I was sick as a dog on Saturday, but hung in there. The kids had a great time at the birthday party. While CArl's neice's went off to swim, Carl, his dad, Aubrey and I went to play minature golf. It was a lot of fun. We played 18 holes and I had low score :)

After golf, Carl's dad took us into town to try and find some stuff to make a hot toddie for my throat. I was feeling like total crap by this time. We found a liquor store and ran to the grocery store to get stuff for breakfast on Sunday.

Back at the cabin, I had a few hot toddies which worked wonders on my throat. It cleared all the gunk out from oround my voice box and I was talking almost normal again in just a few minutes.

For those of you who don't know what a hot toddie is, it's basically just a whiskey sour with a little hot water and honey.

Aubrey spent the night at the cabin with Carl's neices and the rest of the family while we went to spend the night with Carl's grandparents. I was glad. It meant a real bed and some quiet time.

Sunday Carl's dad took Aubrey and the other girls horseback riding. You should have seen her on that horse. I wish I had my camera. The guy who runs the place asked if she had ridden before because she did so well :) I was very proud of her. He said she followed directions perfectly and he didn't have to watch her very close...she had great control of the horse.

We headed back home after horseback riding. Aubrey and I slept most of the way.

I was still feeling bad this morning and it's a good thing I decided to stay home. They turned off my power at around 10:30 this morning, so I would have come home to a hot apartment with no power. I thought they were required to warn you before shutting off power in the summer, but I guess not. Carl bailed me out once again and at least now I'm caught up with the electricty bill. I'm still behind two car payments and I still owe the Diva money for Chou Chou's wedding, but I'm catching up. Unfortunately...Carl is the one bailing me out all the time. I shouldn't feel so bad about that, but I do. He's a good man for sure.

Well, I'm off to get the kiddo from school and the dog from the kennel.

kellbelle at 3:23 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next