2004-11-12

Rain Rain Go Away

Terri honey, dance harder because it looks like it's going to rain all weekend. (She promised me in IM last night that she would do her anti-rain dance).

60% Chance of rain tomorrow. And it's supposed to get down to 42 degrees tonight. Still, I'm really looking forward to this weekend. For years I volunteered to do stuff with Aubrey's troop and they never seemed to "need" me to go along. This year I'm in charge. Admittedly, I'm the only adult for my troop that will be there, but I think it's going to be a blast. I just hope these girls are prepared for dark, cold, wet weather. I'm a little bummed out that it might rain. That puts a big damper on the campfire, s'mores and outdoor activities, but oh well. There will be more weekends for camping.

Had a really nice evening with Carl last night. He came over for dinner and watched a movie with me. We watched "My Life So Far". It was hysterical.

First-person narrator Fraser Pettigrew (Robert Norman) is age 10 in 1920, a moment when it seems that the charmed life of Kiloran, the rambling Scottish estate he shares with several generations of his family, will go on forever. Even a stray shellshock casualty from the Great War--a bogeyman who haunts the grounds--is treated as a picturesque bit of local color. The family is what counts: would-be inventor Colin Firth, eccentric paterfamilias and sphagnum moss farmer; his wife Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, who traded an opera career for multiple maternity; crusty uncle Malcolm McDowell, who hopes to inherit Kiloran from matriarch Rosemary Harris and evict everybody; and Ir�ne Jacob, the beauteous young Frenchwoman to whom the uncle is engaged and over whom everyone else goes gaga. Not to mention a gaggle of precocious siblings, colorful servants, and oddball interlopers. Life from the point of view of a 10 year old boy I found absolutely charming and hillarious.

Carl spent the night and hogged all the pillows. I couldn't get comfortable and tossed a lot thinking about all the stuff that I need to take camping ... paranoid that I might forget something. Waking up with carl reminds me of what I miss so much about being married. He looks at me like I'm the only woman in the whole world. He reaches over and touches my cheek and tells me "you're beautiful". He kisses me and gets dressed...kisses me again and he's out the door and off to work. I can't wait until it's every day sharing those moments.

The diamond commercials have started showing up on TV at every turn. It kind of makes me uncomfortable. I don't want him to think I expect anything like that. But he continually comments on the commercials. "Awww lookit how pretty that one is!!" or "Awww that was so sweet." hehe I just smile and nod. Secretly I'm hoping for a sparkly at Christmas. It's a very good possibility, but I don't want to work myself up to a frenzy. I'm trying to be patient and not expectant.

Well, the day is dragging. Nearly everyone is out sick and I finished all my work yesterday in anticipation of leaving work early today. I still have to figure out how to get my roses home. My whole cube smells of them. And the make me smile. I love my guy.

10:33 am

OMG!! Carl just sent me another dozen roses. I can't even believe this man. I'm gonna go cry now.

kellbelle at 10:06 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next