2005-02-01

Queen For A Day

One of the guys in the office brought in a King Cake from New Orleans for Mardi Gras. I got the baby. The Mardi Gras or Carnival season officially begins on January 6th, or the Twelfth Night. Originally objects such as coins, beans, pecans, and peas were hidden inside of every King Cake. Wealthy Louisiana plantation owners in the later 1800s would sometimes put a precious stone or jewel in their King Cakes. In the mid-1900s, a small plastic baby became the symbol of this Holy Day and was placed inside of each King Cake. The New Orleans tradition is that each person takes a piece of cake hoping to find the plastic baby inside. The recipient of the plastic baby is "crowned" King or Queen for the day and that person is obligated to host the following year's party and supply the King Cake. The King Cake tradition came to New Orleans with the French settlers around 1870, continuing a custom dating back to twelfth century France. Similar cakes were used then to celebrate the coming of the three wise men calling it the feast of Epiphany, Twelfth Night, or King's Day. So� Queen for a day!! Can you imagine me in power? Hehe

My first duty as Queen for a day is to assign a cabana boy to every single mother and wife. As Queen for a day, I get two... so Brad Pitt and George Clooney will not be available to cater to your every whim. Should there be a shortage of men to act as cabana boy, I may release George.

Anyway, back to reality. I sometimes wonder what the heck is going to happen at this wedding. None of my family is coming. I will only have a few people there from work and a few close friends. Carl�s side will be overflowing. The guy I asked to walk me down the isle might not even be able to come. Do I really not have that many close people in my life that they can�t come to this one day in my life? It really makes me sad. I do realize that there are things that prevent attendance� like distance or work� but some of these people I have known for so long and have broken my back to help them and do things for them and love them when no one else would. It just makes me sad.

Enough of that. I will seat people EVERYwhere in the church so there will be no �sides� and that will take care of that I suppose.

It appears that I overspent a little this weekend and forgot that my rent was due. DOH!! I�m about $300 short! LOL I�m such a dork�but stress makes me forget things. Carl is so much better with money and things�hopefully we won�t end up living in the street because of me. LOL

Okay� enough. It�s almost lunch time and the Queen hungers. Ta for now.

kellbelle at 11:05 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

3 comments so far

previous | next