2005-04-26

Reminiscing

The morning went rather slowly today, but the afternoon seems to be shaping up to go by quickly. I think everyone is actually in the office today and if they are not, it's good that I don't notice them because that person is one who is always riding my ass.

I found out last night that one of my cousins back in Wisconsin married someone from the Beach Boys. Apparently he's one of the younger members and does more engineering work than singing, but apparently all the Beach Boys were at the wedding. I can just see it now. The Church of the Precious*Blood filled with Be@ch Boys singing "Wouldn't it be*nice if we*were m@rried?" hehe I tried to see if there was something in the local newspaper about it, but the "local" newspaper is about an hour from the actual town. hehe The town is very small and is very post depression. They have one movie theater that doubles as a teen dance club. They show movies on Friday, Saturday and Sunday and during the week it's a dance club.

I love going back there, though. I'm related to half the town through marriage of cousins and such. And yes, I have an aunt and uncle that were actually 2nd or 3rd cousins and they got married. Their kids are GORGEOUS and very smart, so go figure.

My uncle owned a very small Mobile station in the center of town. He's as deaf as stone, but back in the day he was a riot. He's still a riot and using his hearing as comic relief. You say something to him and responds really loud "What'd you say? Your WHAT hurts???" hehe Love my Uncle Bill. He's my dad's brother and my favorite.

Some day I will have to write about my parents' families. My mother had 13 brothers and sisters, so that might take me a while. Heheh My dad's family is most interesting to me because I know the least about them. They came to the US from Czechoslovakia (back then it was still called Bohemia). I have no idea of any relation back there, but I try and I have found several people that share my maiden name, but unfortunately, the name is very common over there.

My cousin emailed me the papers about my grandfather being baptized Mormon. He died in 1966 and was baptized Mormon in 1970. hehe Wild.

Not much else to comment on today. I have family on the brain. I'm terribly homesick. I miss my mom. Getting married is really bringing all these feelings for the forefront. The fact that none of them will be here hurts a bit, but it's not anything I can force upon them. If they want to come they will be here. I wish they knew what it really meant to me.

Yes, I could tell them. But you have to understand those people. I'm nothing like them. I've never felt that I fit in or even belonged to the family. I'm not saying I'm smarter than they are or anything, but I'm just in another place... another world. I wanted to get out of that town and find myself in the world. They are content to feed off each other through gossip and money and whatever other disputes arise. I'm much happier from a distance, but I still long to be a "part" of what they have. I just know that I never will be. It's hard to explain.

Well I didn't mean to get all deep there. I'll stop here for now. Enough reflection. That's all I need is to get all soppy and cry at work. LOL

kellbelle at 12:27 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next