2006-02-06

A brief bit on feminism

I grew up thinking that Feminism was bad. My mother worked outside the home and I told myself that I didn't want to be that kind of mother. I didn't want to be "empowered" and have to work outside the home. Not one man I was ever with didn't want me to work. I WANTED to stay home and I still couldn't find a man who would "allow" that let alone LIKE it.

It wasn't until many years later that I realized what Feminism really was. Feminism empowers women to have a CHOICE about whether they stay home with the family or go to work. Choice is a big deal these days... not just for women, but for lots of different racial and ethinic groups as well. All the stuff going on in Iraq is supposed to be about empowering the people to be able to choose their leader. Whether or not that is why we're really there seems to be a matter of opinion.

I feel lately that my whole life has been leading up to this point... my new career choice. I have never been an "activist". I have hardly even voted in past elections, but the older I get the clearer it becomes that we have been given choices and tremendous opportunity from the actual BLOOD of other people. Women died so that we could vote. People died speaking out against things that they consider wrong (that some of us agree with but never back up with votes). Women now outnumber men and make up 53% of the population in the United States, but are we represented the way we really feel that we should be? It blows my mind.

Some of the feminist theories I never knew are to 1) eliminate false dichotomies. People should critically evalute the way thoughts and patters are structure within culture. 2) Rethinking knowledge. Critically evaluate not only HOW your think about something, but also WHAT you think about it. 3) Recogizing that differences exist in male and femail experiences through life spans. Socizlization is key here. 4) end of patriarch. Refuting the comcept of male dominance, female submission and gendger discrimination. 5) empowerment. This one speaks for itself. Provide the tools of personal power so someone can take action. 6) valuing process equally with product. It is not only important WHAT you get done, but HOW you get it done. 7) the personal is political. That means that personal experience is intertwined with the social and political environment. 8) unity and diversity. Women working together can achieve a better quality of life for all. 9) consciousness raising. Critical awareness of cultural and political factors that shape identity, personal & social realities, and relationships.

If I had known these things at a much younger age, I would have probably been more interested in feminism in general. They are not corrupt or selfish goals for women who hate men. I am blown away at some of the things happening in my life since I made the simple decision to go back to school. It's changing the way I think and feel. It's changing my life.

kellbelle at 4:10 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next