2006-02-23

Another school rant

We had a review of our first test in my government class today and I guess I know a lot more than I thought I did. I only got three wrong on the test. That means I probably got a 97% on the test. The essays are subjective (25 points each), but from what we went over in class, I think I nailed all the points. This really gives me a good feeling. While I still probably wouldn't feel comfortable having a discussion with someone about politics, I know that I'm open minded enough to see both sides of an issue. That doesn't mean I will agree with both sides, and it also doesn't mean I will be able to defend why I feel I agree with an issue, but I do feel a lot smarter and more informed than in the past.

So far I'm running an A average. Let's hope that my human behavior class is kind to me. That class is nothing but constant note taking and I find myself thinking that why does the teacher bother with a lecture when she is only reading everything we've just read from the book. There is not a lot of discussion in that class, few questions asked. I feel sometimes like my hand will fall off from all the writing of notes (that mimic what is in the book). The problem is that she doesn't cover EVERY issue the book addresses, so I feel compelled to take notes on what she does talk about in fear that it might manifest on a test. Which I'm sure it will. The other problem is that the only tests in this class are midterm and final... no quizzes in between... no way to judge that I know what I'm reading as I go along. That's not comforting.

My Intro to Social Work class is fun and full of lively discussion. We've been in class for several weeks and we're still only in Chapter 2 of the book because we really have great discussions. I enjoy the professor and most of my classmates.

Usually, I'm the kind of person who likes just about everyone. I say usually because in this class there is one girl who just rambles on and on about things that, often, have little to do with anything we're talking about in class. She will start out on topic and then slowly wind her story off into NeverNever Land. She is also in my Human Behavior class and neither professor ever stop her story telling. Yesterday we had a guest speaker in both my Intro and Human Behavior classes. This girl spoke to guest speakers for 15 minutes each class just commenting on an issue that the speaker brought up. I think it's good to interact with speakers. Ask questions and get involved, but don't be going on for 15 minutes about something off topic. I think it's rude and immature. Yet no one stopped her. *sigh* I feel a lot like a parent in those classes when she starts talking. I want to tell her to stop, but at the same time, she's "not my kid". It's frustrating.

Another frustrating thing is that she is not well worded. She uses lots of "like" and "you know" to punctuate her points. It gets annoying because it's like listening to someone in Valley High School try to talk like an intellectual and failing miserably. "Like, you know when you're driving down the road and like you see this like homeless person like trying to like collect money from people?" That drives me crazy. And yes, that is an actual sentence she used yesterday. I recognize that I'm probably equally annoying to people for whatever reason, but I'm aware of most of those reasons and try to avoid them. LOL Admittedly she's still a kid... she's 19 and has a lot to learn.

I think I'm through ranting.

kellbelle at 3:29 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

2 comments so far

previous | next