2006-02-24

Two in a Million: Danny and Annie Perasa

I started my day by listening to the radio. My alarm went off at 7:30 and I sipped the cup of coffee that Carl brought me. THIS came on the radio. Please listen to it. It is the story of Danny and Annie Perasa -- how they met and how they have stayed in love. Please go listen and then come back here and let me know what you think.

I can't even describe how much their story moved me. Not just because I'm still a newlywed, or because I'm lucky enough to have ANYONE love me as much as Carl does, but because they have been in love through their entire marriage.

As I listened to their story I found myself feeling guilty for feeling like a gripe at times with Carl. I have never regretted meeting him or marrying him or anything like that. I'm just talking about petty gripes. Why feel guilty? Because he should know that even if I'm a gripe that I love him with all my heart. He should have confidence in our relationship that even if I have a gripe that our love will stand. I'm not sure I always inspire that confidence.

Power is a funny thing. We use our power over people in differnt ways. I realized today that I sometimes withhold love because I know it makes him feel a weakness and a fear that I might leave him. It's not fair for me to use that against him... even though I know I would never do such a thing. To use that against him is weak and not at all loving in a way that he deserves. I'm ashamed to confess such a thing here, but confessed it is and because of that I will.

I sent Carl the story this morning by email and this is what he just sent to me "You can't imagine ...how much I love you. You are the most amazing thing ever to come into my life. I get a knot in my throat every time I think about you. Thank you for being you and being with me."

I don't think I need to say anything else.

kellbelle at 8:12 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next