2006-09-13

Lady Chatterly's Lover of Hip Pain and Skipping School

Read Lady Chatterly for over an hour last night and was moved to tears at one point. Poor LC feels as though she has no tangible connection to the world. At times I know how she feels. Men are men... the physical, sexual creatures they are. I think there is and perhaps always will be little understanding between the sexes. I think if we understood each other too much we would be completely bored with life. LC thinks she understands but also constantly finds herself wondering what the hell she's doing.

Her lover wants a world without so much of the world being a part of it. The expectations of others, the grinding, mechanical "noise" that is life interferes with his "paradise". He wants seclusion and to keep the world a bay. LC has brought the outside to him now and he is struggling with the physical desire of her presence and his desire to be left alone.

The events that led up to the love scene made me cry. Lawrence's use of language... how he describes LC's vulnerablility and how her lover comes to recognize that vulnerability were so moving. Or maybe it's just that I'm pregnant. heh

Anyway, I'm enjoying a day off from school today. My hip has been killing me from walking all over the place on campus. My stomach muscles are very sore as well and that makes getting around that much slower. I really need to go find a rolling backpack. I think that may alleviate my discomfort. I called the doctor and got a note for school so that my absence is excused. That's always a good thing.

Well, back to studying. I have a psych exam next week and while a lot of it is review from my human behavior class last sememster, there's still a lot of other stuff to review. Have a great day!

kellbelle at 8:58 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next