2006-09-12

School Chatter

Conversations in class are getting better. If the opinionated people would stop using "um," "like," and "you know" every five seconds I could probably tolerate them a whole lot better!

New carpet is coming on Friday, but because the next few nights are busy, we need to pull everything out of the closets tonight and remove all the "breakable" items. Tonight is the only night as tomorrow night we have a Girl Scout meeting here and Thursday night is Spanish night, so that leaves little time for Aubrey to be able to practice her saxophone for 30 minutes before bed as well as move all the items. The really good thing is that we don't have to move the furniture. The carpet guys do that for us.

Speaking of the sax, Aubrey is doing great with her lessons. She started her private lessons last Saturday and we learned that the place we rented her instrument from gave us one that is pretty beat up. The teacher reassured me saying that it takes a trained eye to see what's really wrong with the instrument, so I shouldn't feel duped, but I can't say that I don't feel that way. As much as you pay to rent these things, you would think that they would give you a working instrument. The damage to her horn affects the sound it produces. Fortunately we can get it repaired.

This weekend we are becoming members of our church and will be hanging out at the lake with our new friends. It should be a fun time. They have kayaks and a sailboat that they are bringing. I can't swim at the lake (doc is worried about contamination from the lake to the baby), but I can sail or kayak. That should be fun.

The cats are chasing each other all over the house. Probably because there is a male cat outside watching them and they are just being flirty girls. You should hear them howling at him through the glass!

I ordered some books I've been wanting for a while and have picked up a couple of them. I'm one of those people who like to have different things to pick up when I get bored with something else. So, I'm currently reading A History of Women in America, Lady Chatterly's Lover (DH Lawrence) and In Cold Blood (Capote). So far I'm really liking all of them. I take Capote to school with me and read during my breaks in classes and I have the other two books at bedside.

I've really been surprised how much I have been enjoying the history of women book. Maybe because it's because it's helping me in my Women's Roles class. We are covering feminism in America, so the book gives me more detailed information than the text we use in class. It's nice to be able to know a little bit more background and makes me a little more sure that I know things the correct way. LOL

well, I'm on a break inbetween classes, so I'd better get in gear and head off to my Psychology class. We have our first test next Tuesday and apparently we're being given the review sheet today. Have a good week!

kellbelle at 1:03 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next