2003-03-29

Postcards And Personal Mail

I'm feeling a bit meloncholy today. Not sure if it's because the kiddo is off with her father, or just that I'm bored and don't have much to do. I spent the morning talking to M in Amsterdam. He's gotten a few of my postcards and letters and has been so sweet and kind lately. He said no one has ever written to him before. I thought about how sad that is. To live in a world with so many people and you never receive anything personal.

As I was thinking about that, I wandered out to my own mailbox to see what bills were due this week. I was so surprised to see a postcard from Navy Guy. Navy Guy is currently in Iraq. He sent me a postcard from Italy, where he was just before he was deployed to the gulf. He knows I have a weird fascination of volcanos, so the postcard is a really awesome shot of an ancient theater with the volcano in the background. Totally caught me off guard. He signed it "thinking of you". Wow... I don't know what to think now. :)

I'm scared Navy Guy will want to meet after he gets home (hopefully sometime in May). He's stationed pretty far from me, but not an unreasonable distance. I just already know I'm not his type. He's really tall and good looking and I'm short and dumpy and on the heavy side. LOL Not that I think I'm ugly or anything, I've only ever written to this guy out of friendship from him being in the military and keeping him company through the mail. I feel weird about the whole thing suddenly. I shouldn't say I'm worried about how HE feels about ME. I don't think really that HE is MY type... or that I even really want to meet him. There I've said it. God I am neurotic.

kellbelle at 5:48 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next