2003-05-26

Memorial Day

I'm such a sap. Just got back from my kiddo's Memorial Day presentation at the school. They sing America The Beautiful and Proud To Be An American and I have to fight the tears. Silly really. But Memorial Day always touches me that way. I don't know of anyone personally who has died protecting my right of freedom, but it touches me just the same.

My mother's brother died while storming the beach at Normandy, France. I once sat down and read all her letters back and forth to my Uncle Frank. They were pretty close in age and very close friends. She already knew he was gone by the time she got his last letter. And the letter was a total surprise to my mother. She covered it with kisses, the envelope is still covered with her lipstick prints. I can't imagine losing someone so close to me in such a terrible and unexpected way.

So today is a day to remember those that have gone before us. People we have loved, people who fought for our freedom, people who gave us the lives that we have today. So I just want to take this time to say my thank yous.

I thank my ancestors for coming to this country. Being so brave to leave everything they knew and loved about their homeland to come here and start all over with nothing. That takes courage... and what an adventure they must have had.

And for all those who have died before me so that I might live, Thank You. We might not know your names, but we know that you died for the greater good, for something you believed in. If only the rest of us had that kind of conviction and courage in out daily lives.

kellbelle at 9:52 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next