2003-07-26

Party Day

Vacation Bible School is over (praise God). I really got pissed off on the last night when someone started ordering me around. Ummmm *I* was in charge of the assembly... not this woman. I had asked her to "help out" with the motions to all the songs. She informed me last nigth that I "was not needed" for the closing assembly. Excuse me??? And that they were doing songs that I hadn't planned for. I had everything scripted out on cards so that people would know what was going on. She walks up to me and says "We're going to do this song." I said "Well.. whatever is on the cards, that's what we're doing." She says "NO.... this song is not on the cards, but we're doing it." So ... I walked away and let them have it. Stupid petty stuff. I hate bossy people and anyone who knows me knows it's hard enough for me as it is to be in a leadership role. This was my first time doing anything like this. I'm just glad it's over. They had a big cookout last night after everything was done and the workers were supposed to clean up after, but I just ate and took the kiddo home as we have tons to do for her party today.

I got up at 7:00 to start the coals for the smoker. The coals wouldn't start and I had no lighter fluid. So I ran to the store in my pj's while kiddo was sleeping to get some. Nearly burning mysel in a flash of flame, the coals STILL did not stay lit. Meanwhile, the chicken I was going to smoke looks sooooo nasty no one would ever want to eat it. So I slapped on some more marinade and it's now in the oven. I'm hoping it loses that ashen color.

The party starts in an hour and I'm wondering if I didn't make a mistake scheduling it for 3 hours. LOL Gah! But I figure they can plan on the slip-n-slide and in the kiddie pool. I made a bunch of water balloons too, so they should have some fun before we eat and then the can run around and play games and get wet again after.

That's about it for today... enjoy the weekend and Happy Birthday to my kiddo.. she'll be 8 on Monday :)

kellbelle at 12:16 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next