2003-12-22

The Best Christmas Ever

Carl came over Friday night to spend the night before heading to Houston on Saturday. I made a big pot of chili and some cornbread and had on a really great Portuguese CD on the stereo. He brought some Celis White (wheat beer) and it was so great with the chili. We ate and snuggled and smooched on the sofa for a while. He started tucking in my shirt and pulled me to stand up. He says "I'm not dressing you for the sake of dressing you. I want to take you to bed." GaaaaaaaGaaaaaa hehe I love this man.

Woke up on Saturday and discovered that one of his tires was flat. We ran to get a few things from Walgreens (and a can of fix-a-flat) and decided that it would probably be better to take my car down to houston. We ran to the post office, mailed off his Christmas cards and then headed back to my house to get the car. We tanked up with gas and hit the road. I drove 1/2 way and he the other 1/2.

The ride there was a little quiet. Normally when we're together we have movies to talk about or we're snuggling. But driving is a different world. LOL But it wasn't uncomfortable... just different.

I was so very nervous. I mean, I knew that it was a really big deal that he was bringing me home to meet the family. But you have no idea what a really big deal it was. We got there and they just hugged me for dear life. They were so happy that he brought someone. Only two of his aunts knew I was coming. Everyone else had no idea. His Aunts are so great. Everyone treated me like he had always been bringing me to Christmas.

His family is so wonderful. We sang songs and told stories and laughed and laughed. They even had gifts for me. That made me lose it. I was not expecting anything... and they were all so kind.

We spent the night with his Aunt Sissy and her husband Stan. They have a beautiful little condo filled with antiques. Everything in that house has a history. Stan repairs antiques and builds to match period pieces. They are such incredible people. We stayed up talking until I don't know how late and then went to bed. I slept in this wonderful brass bed that was waaay up off the floor and so comfortable... I drifted off in minutes. Carl got the sofa sleeper! LOL

The next morning we got up and showered and Carl took me on a tour around Galveston Bay. We took a ferry across one of the bayous and saw the San Jacinto Monument. Carl is so darn smart. He talked for over an hour about the area and all the interesting tidbits that happened around there. I was in my element the whole weekend. Not an uncomfortable moment at any time.

At lunch we were invited over to a family friend's house. Some of the aunts were there, and Carl's dad and step-mom were there. They are so great. Aunt Sissy cornered me again and asked if I had a good time. I told her that it was the best Christmas I've ever had and I started to tear up...because I knew I would have been sitting at home alone otherwise. Well she started to cry... and then Carl's step-mom started to cry. Carl came walking over and saw us all blubbering and said "Oh my goodness.. girl stuff!" and walked away. LOL

Enjoyed lunch with everyone and AGAIN Aunt Sissy told me that it was so great that Carl brought me. She kept telling me that he'd never brought anyone and that I must be very special. His step-mom dabbed at tears and said the same thing.

The drive home was a lot more comfortable and we talked so much about everything. He talked about past relationships and the different problems he's had with girls he's liked. It was good for me to have insight into things. He told me that I make him feel okay, accepted, loved. I said that was good because that's how I feel about him.

He stayed with me last night and after tucking Aubrey in, we went to bed and talked for hours more. He said he loved me in his own silly, messed up way. And I said "There is NOTHING wrong with the way you love me. There is NOTHING wrong with you. You've just been with the wrong girl." He just totally turned to mush and tried so hard not to cry. Looked me in the eye and said "I love you Kelly".

I made him late for work this morning. Felt a little guilty about it, but it was worth it. I was late, too. hehe And on my way to work he called me. He had been planning on going to Palestine on Christmas Eve and since his nana doesn't have much room, I wasn't going to go. We had talked about it on the way home. Well this morning he suggested that he come to church with me on Christmas Eve and that we both go to Palestine on Christmas day and then just come home. You have no idea how much I had wanted to suggest that myself, but I'm so glad that I waited for him to offer it up. Makes me really feel that he's in the same place emotionally that I am. And I know he is after this whole weekend.

We also talked about my birthday. His other grandparents live in Fredricksburg which is where I wanted to go for my birthday. So now he's all excited about doing that. Things are very good in my world. Better than I ever thought possible.

Happy Holidays everyone. I am so totally into the season, moreso than I have ever felt before.

kellbelle at 10:18 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next