2004-01-05

New Year New Me

New Mexico was fabulous! Carl was as sweet as ever. I was scared they would stick us in separate corners, but we got to share the sofa sleeper so that was cool. hehe The mountains were beautiful, all the snow and the scenery were so great.

We got there around 7:00 or 8:00 local time on New Year's Eve. We celebrated Dallas' time and then at midnight local time, Carl and I celebrated in our own way while everyone else slept ;) hehe

Carl went skiing with his brother-in-law the first day and I just relaxed. I stayed in the cabin and everyone else went out. I sat in front of the fire, wrote in my "real" journal and read my book, but mostly I just slept and thought about how great it was to be on a real vacation.

On Friday I knew I had money in the bank, so I decided to try the skiing thing. Carl and I did a little shopping in town first and I got some stuff for Aubrey and had a coffee and just soaked up the scenery. After lunch we hit the slopes. I hit them literally, several times (and have the bruises to prove it)! Carl was my teacher, and I'm telling you this man is so kind and patient. He said I did very well on the bunny slopes (I only fell getting off the lift one time). We stayed there about 30 minutes and then I thought I was ready to try the next level. Well I wasn't... that's all I can say. LOL I got off the lift just fine, but the hill was way too steep for me and I wiped out hard several times. I was so sore and tired I couldn't even get up at one point. I was near tears .. well.. I was IN tears... and so tired. Carl kept telling me "You can do this.... you're okay... everyone falls down.. you're doing so good." He was soooo supportive. Got on his knees at one point and took my face in his hands and said "Baby, it's okay...I love you." :) I got up and somehow made it down the hill. We went in to have a rest and I lost it again. My leg still hurts and I still have a bump on the back of my head where it bounced off the snow. LOL I told him if he'd rather ski with his sister and her husband that I could go sit in the lift house and have a drink. He said all he wanted was to be with me. I mean.. this guy is unreal. We hit the bunny slopes a couple more times and then I was done. All I wanted was a shot and a beer. I ended up having 4 shots and 2 beers. LOL I was so tired.

That night we got back to the cabin and I sucked down some Tylenol PM and crashed out before 10:00 I think. Carl was tired too. Got up early the next day and went to town again to mail Carl's postcards and have another coffee and just walk around and talk. He stopped at every corner to kiss me, thanking me for coming with him.... it was all perfect. After that we headed back to the cabin and packed up to drive home.

It's a good thing we left earlier than planned, because a HUGE snow storm blew in. We drove straight home and got back to Carl's place around 1:30 am Saturday night/Sunday morning. I stayed with him that night. We got up on Sunday, went for lunch and then he came over to my place to do some laundry and to help me get Aubrey's room put back together from the painting. I can't wait for her to see it! We didn't get his laundry done, I still have a load in the washer that needs to go in the dryer, but that just means he'll have to come back over :D

This year is shaping up quite nicely. I went to the doctor today for my yearly and found out I had an $87.00 credit. Then I came to work and checked my bank balance and found out I got two child support checks this week. Things are good... really good. :)

kellbelle at 4:11 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next