2004-04-07

Custody Issues Sorted

I took a day off from the diary yesterday because I was a little pissed off at my ex and didn't want to write things that I didn't mean. I was muttering to myself all day "Just remember that Texas is a death penalty state".

Yesterday morning I got the following email from my ex:

***********************************

Just wanted to let you know that a thought had been going through my mind and, to my surprise, it came up while Aubrey and I were riding bikes at the park on Saturday. It has to do with the possibility that Aubrey might come live with me and hearing it from her made me aware that you have been thinking about it, as well. I am open for a discussion on this matter, if you want to talk about it sometime. However, even though I'm opening the door through email, I don't think we need to carry on any formal conversations on the matter by email. I was going to bring it up when I dropped her off Sunday but didn't want to get into while she was present. Just let me know.

Thanks,

Gary

***********************************

Now I know that this wasn't her idea. She has been asking me for several days if she has to "pick" where she wants to live.

I love the part where he says "....to my surprise, it came up while Aubrey and I were riding bikes at the park on Saturday." I responded and then I got this:

My initial thoughts were that I would bring it up sometime when Aubrey wasn't around and had no intention of discussing it with her. Like I said, she surprised me and brought it up so I knew that you had said something to her but I didn't know in what context. So, I did ask her if she thought she would like to come live with me and she yes but it was obvious that she wasn't really sure so I changed the subject and left it alone. I just want stability for her and thought it might help with your current situation. I will talk with her next time and smooth the situation out without disrupting anything further. I will be honest and tell you that I did convey the message to her that I didn't like the idea of you guys moving to Denton but I also told her that it could be worse. We are both going through some changes that will have an impact on her and we will have to be careful. And I feel that I need to know what intentions Carl has towards you as this has a great effect on her as well.

Carl's intentions are none of his business since I am not moving in with Carl. I could see if we were going to live together, but we're not. My attorney said to tell Gary that "this is not an option at this time." Tammy told me to tell Gary that Carl is just using me for sex! HA!! Carl told me to tell Gary that we're getting married in 2006 :)))

Had a long talk with Aubrey about it all last night and I told her that she could spend as much time with him this summer as she wants. She can stay the whole summer with him but when school starts, she comes to live with me no matter where I am. She smiled and said "Okay" :)

Oh... did I mention Carl says we're getting married in 2006??? hehe

kellbelle at 9:28 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next