2004-06-08

Relationship Discoveries

Carl gets frustrated with me when I'm crabby.

Last night I got home from work and BooBoo (the dog) was very very yippy and whiney. He would yipe and nearly drop on the floor. Carl came over for dinner and we ate and I took Boo Boo outside for our walk. He yiped the whole time. I touched his head and he about acted like I beat him. Something was wrong.

I drove all over town looking for a vet so that maybe I could take him in during office hours the next day. Several places had a reference number for the pet emergency place where you could call and ask questions. I called them up and they said if he was in enough pain where he was hunkering down on the floor/ground I should probably bring him in.

So we drove back to the apartment, picked up the dog (who was in complete misery) and drove to the vet hospital. I was feeling bad because I thought perhaps it was some neglect on my part that had led to the dog being hurt, so I was in a bit of a funk.

We got to the Vet ER and there were other people there, so I made conversation and had them rolling. Apparently I embarrassed Carl with my humor :(

We get Boo Boo and it turns out he has a massive ear infection in both ears (nothing I've done) and is innundated with fleas. Trip to ER Vet = $90.00 Ouch :(

Again, I feel like I'm a bad pet mom and I say so out loud because Boo Boo is in pain and there's not a lot I can do to comfort him. Carl is getting frustrated.

We get to the house and he tells me that maybe we should run to the store and buy a spray to treat his bed. I suggested putting the bed outside and giving Boo and old pillow to sleep on for the night. They had given him a medicine to kill all the fleas, so I covered the pillow with a sheet. It was 10:00 at night and I didn't want to go to the store and then come treat the bedding. Carl says "Well I want to go to bed too. You're the one who is griping."

OOoooookay then... there's the door, right? Then he says "I didn't mean to upset you" (the comment did make me tear up). I was tired, I'm still living out of boxes, I had wanted to use the evening to relax and unpack and put stuff away and instead ended up in the pet ER. Yes I was crabby. I was allowed to be. If you don't want to deal with it... then you go to YOUR house. Am I right??

I asked Carl today "Do you want to come over for dinner tonight? I promise to leave the gripes at work." His reply was "s'alright". Ummm excuse me is that a yes or is it a no???? Sheeeesh cut me some slack.

kellbelle at 11:53 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

2 comments so far

previous | next