2004-06-17

The power of crying out

I've been having a "talk" with someone about "crying out". Crying out is something I do when I feel like I have no other options...when I'm worried or scared or feel I have no one to turn to or talk to. It's a bit like prayer time, but mostly it's about releasing all the crap that I don't want to hold onto anymore.

A lot of people think that crying makes you weak. Everyone cries sometime. Don't tell me that they don't. We're all human and crying is a very human emotion. I say if you feel like you're going to cry, why deny yourself? When I cry I use it as a time to just let it all go. I don't get hysterical or anything, but I throw myself into and and just allow myself to let it happen. I tell you what... when I do that, it doesn't last as long as it used to. I sob and cry and I'm done. Yeah your head hurts after. Yeah your nose is stuffy and your eyes burn, but emotionally I find it very cleansing.

I also have found that just as I found this tool, and just as I really started using it effectively... I hardly have the need to do it anymore. I wouldn't say that it's because my life is good or that things are a lot better than they used to be. I think it's because I understand myself a lot better now. I understand my needs and my feelings. I'm sure I will need to cry out sometime again, but lately I just feel strong again.

kellbelle at 1:05 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next