2004-12-28

Tomato Basil Soup or What Not To Wear To A Wedding

Last night we went to Carl�s mom�s wedding. It was really nice, but the whole day was just one big long ordeal. Carl got dressed before we left, but we left at noon and the wedding wasn�t until 6pm. I opted to wear jeans and a t-shirt until I could change after we�d run the errands. First we had to pick up the wedding cake. It was HUGE. It was an Italian Cream and it smelled so good. I was so glad I convinced Carl to take my car since all we had to do was slide the cake in the back. I can just imagine trying to get that sucker out of Carl�s trunk. Next we headed to his mom�s place to pick up the wine and champagne. I changed at her place as our next two stops were before the wedding. We dropped off the cake and alcohol to the reception site and then went to lunch.

Carl ordered the Tomato Basil soup. I nearly asked him if that was a good idea, but I didn�t want to seem bitchy or anything so I got my potato soup and a sandwich. About 4 sips of his soup and he freaked out upon discovering he had splattered soup all over his white shirt. It is not a pretty sight when Carl freaks out. I handed him a napkin and my ice water and told him to dab at the spots, not �wipe� them. He took my napkin, said �I know� and went off the bathroom. It hurt my feelings a little because 1) it�s not my fault he ordered red soup 2) it�s not my fault he�s a messy eater 3) he got snippy with me for offering advice.

The rest of lunch was pretty quiet. After lunch we headed to the mall to buy him a white shirt. He asked if I was mad at him. I wasn�t mad, I just said I was sorry I didn�t say anything about him ordering the soup.

After finding the shirt we went to the wedding site. It was really beautiful and we were there to supervise all the flowers and chairs and setup. I set up the video equipment and sat around waiting for the next 2 hours. Yeah�two hours.

His mom showed up, I helped her dress and get everyone all their flowers. I taped the whole ceremony. It was very sweet and touching. I had to run for tissue at one point because I didn�t want the video tape to pick up on me sniffling. Hehe

After the wedding we went to the reception site and I taped people wishing the couple well. We ate and had champagne toasts. Avis�s (Carl�s mom) toast to her hubby was me singing �Grow*Old*With*Me�. It turned out really well and I had to try so hard not to cry. They were both watching me sing to them with tears in their eyes and I tried my best to sing to them, not to the crowd, and to try not to cry. I made it through and cried after. Hehe

Avis was so wonderful. She told me all these sweet things about how happy she is that I came into her life (and Carl�s hehe) and that she was so excited to be Aubrey�s grandmother. It was a really nice time and I�m hoping that my wedding goes as well. Speaking of my wedding, we�re under the 6 month mark. Ack!!

kellbelle at 11:16 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next