2005-02-23

Another weird entry....sorry

I really suck at html, so this link might not work, but This Story got me thinking this morning about death and dying. Yeah, I know I�m on a roll today after that previous entry, sorry. When I was a teenager, I used to try and imagine what death was like. Now mind you, I was raised Catholic and I consider myself to be a Christian, but no one can tell you what death is actually like. It scares me to think of living my whole life until the end only to be met with, well, the end� nothing� nada. Just a black hole and non-existence. My ex husband is the one who put this fear in me. He�s an atheist, and that�s his belief of what happens. When did I get his thoughts stuck in my head? Sheesh.

Anyway, I have been following that story for a long time playing out in my head my possibilities. Do you remain hooked to life support basically living in your dreams� because obviously there�s still brain activity there and those brain cells are firing� or do you choose the possibility of nothing? Would fear cause some people to choose to remain connected to life support? I�ve heard reasons for being disconnected include dignity. My thought is this� you are not conscious of your dignity so would it even exist? Is it more painful for your family to let you go or do you let them live in hope and gratitude that they can still see you and talk to you and touch you? It�s tough. I still have no idea what I would do and I hope no one in my family ever has to make that choice for me. I feel for this woman�s parents and at the same time I feel very sad for them because I don�t think the woman will ever come out of her mind� out of the damage done to her. But if the feeding tube is removed from this woman, you can be sure the parents will blame the woman�s husband for her death instead of the injury she suffered so many years ago. I feel for her husband, too. Can you imagine seeing someone that you loved and cared for and thought you would spend the rest of your life with in such a state of suspended animation? He thinks that she is �gone� and her parents still see hope. What a horrible position to be in. I pray for both sides� that they have the strength to deal with whatever decision the courts hand down.

kellbelle at 2:49 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next