2005-03-28

Lead Me Not Into Temptation

Today Carl ordered some guide books for our honeymoon to Que*bec. I can�t wait. The hotel looks so beautiful. Some of the things we�re planning on doing are walking tours and museums and, my hopeful favorite, a whale spotting cruise that becomes a candlelight dinner cruise. That would rock. We are also going to try and find a family heritage spot from one of my ancestors. I don�t have an exact address, but I do know the cross streets and, supposedly, it�s a historical home, so there should be some kind of sign saying which home it is! LOL

Today is day one of the SB diet. I have cheated, but I have not been bad. This first two weeks is to bust your cravings. This being the day after Easter, I knew that chocolate was going to be hard to avoid. I did not bring any. No one in my department brought any, but when I walked into the kitchen to get a spoon for my non-fat cottage cheese and cucumbers and a glass of water, there was a gigantic basket of candy. I resisted THAT time, but later I found myself taking two. I could have easily taken a handful and dispensed them as needed at my desk, but the fact that when I get that urge I have to get up and walk to the kitchen. I have that much time to talk myself out of it. I had a salad for lunch and tonight we�re having grilled chicken and vegetables. Carl�s parents gave me a small Geor*ge Forem@n grill, so I will be using that for the chicken breasts and veggies. Sugar free jello for after dinner. Veggie juice cocktail for drink with dinner. *sigh* I miss wine already.

Work is very slow again this afternoon. I have entertained myself with sorting piles of papers for filing (I have my own system down for filing) and reading diaries, doing research for the honeymoon, doing some genealogy lookups using the internet, etc. I did find some really interesting hits with my searches but I don�t want to post them and have links back to my family. LOL I did actually find a rock band (in Czech Republic) that uses my maiden name as the name for the band. Who would have thought that my family name means �a loud metal clanging sound�? hehe Good name for a rock band and accurate description of the personality of my family. Also found a famous rock climber with my maiden name. Very interesting stuff.

If anyone is interested, this http://home.crrstv.net/kerrine/images/travel/Quebec%20City/hotel_de_frontenac.jpg is where Carl and I are staying on our honeymoon. Cool huh?? I can�t wait. I don�t think we�re in the older part of the hotel and I told Carl not to pay for a room with a view. We�re probably in the newer (more modern) section with an inside room. Why pay for a view when we�re going to be out in the city all day exploring and only sleeping there at night? Has anyone ever been to Que*bec? Can you recommend things for us to do? I�m really looking forward to that dinner cruise and whale sighting cruise.

I have been feeling a little funny when I get reply cards for the wedding. Most of the people that I invited (meaning my friends and family) can�t come. This isn�t meant to be a guilt trip for those of you who can�t come!! LOL I�m just more upset really about my family not coming. Yes, they have seen me married before. I just thought it would be a great excuse for them to get out of that small town life that they�re all stuck in. They always say they want to visit and they never do. I wish I didn�t let it bother me so much, but it does reinforce a little why I moved away. I have never been anything like the rest of them. I have never felt as though I fit in at all with any of them. I�m the �artsy� one, the one that not any of them can understand. It�s sad really, but it�s true. It�s funny how I�ve always found the acceptance and love and support from those who �wanted� to be family to me than from those who were born to be my family.

Enough of that. I think I only have about an hour and 45 minutes to go. Maybe I can find something more constructive to do.

kellbelle at 2:47 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next