2005-05-16

Mental Health Monday

I am so tired it's not even funny. We spent the weekend at the lake and it was so beautiful all weekend. It was Carl's mom's birthday. Aubrey brought down the garden stone she had made and Carl's mom loved it. Carl overheard me telling someone that he thought his mom wouldn't like it. He got all pouty and mad at me. I went down to the lake to have my wine on the dock. I did tell Aubrey that's where I was going, but I should have known better. She didn't hear me and Carl freaked. I guess he thought I'd had all I can stand and he thought I took off somewhere. LOL He came down to the dock and melted into tears asking if we were still okay. Sheesh.. he was the one mad at me, not me at him!! I felt terrible!! I told him everything was fine, that I thought he was mad so I was giving him some space. He said he didn't mean to chase me off. LOL I guess in order to allow him to be angry, I have to stay around him and feel the indignation coming off him in waves. LOL

The rest of the weekend was better. Sunday we spent the day with some friends of his mom at their place. They have a beautiful piece of land. We went over for breakfast at 9:00. After eating we hiked around their property while Liz gave us a little nature guide. She talked about all the native plants and others that were not native. We speculated how the different plants that were not native arrived there, as it is a very rural area and there werea few species from China out in the middle of the woods.

After the hike Aubrey got to ride the go cart around the field a few times. She drove once and scared the crap out of Carl. I heard him scream like a woman one time and heard Aubrey laughing really hard. Let's just say she knows how to use the gas pedal, but hasn't quite figured out what the brake is for! hehe

After the go cart adventure, Carl and Aubrey spent some time fishing in the pond while I kicked back and soaked up the quiet scenery. The birds were spectacular. I saw all kinds of lizards and turtles. It was really a great day. We drove back to his mom's place after fishing and then Carl helped clean out the gutters at the lake house. We were there pretty late this time. We didn't head home until about 6:00 and ended up getting home just before 9;00. There was enough time for Aubrey to get a shower, me to get a bath, Carl to finish up some laundry and then all of us to get to sleep before 10:00. It was a really nice weekend.

I checked my answering machine this morning and found that one of Aubrey's friends called 6 times to see if she could spend the night on Saturday. Umm, you would think after the 4th or 5th time that she would have realized we weren't home. LOL

That's all I have to report for now. I'm home today as I need to visit the doctor for my foot. It has been very painful and I'm not quite sure what I did to it. I don't remember bumping it or anything. It almost feels like arthritis or something. Oh well, hopefully it's nothing too serious. Enjoy your Monday. I will surely enjoy mine!

kellbelle at 7:34 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

5 comments so far

previous | next