2005-10-03

Broken

I used to work for a couple of attorneys when I was married to Aubrey's dad. It was just after she was born, as a matter of fact. The attorney that I have been seeing for all my legal stuff is one of those guys I used to work for.

While I was at the office today, I got to talking to the other guy I used to work for. He asked what I was doing now and when I told him that I was going to be starting school, he asked what for. I mentioned social work and his face lit up. He said the program at the school I'll be going to is excellent and that the service organization that he works for (and will be president of next year) gets interns from the school all the time.

I mentioned Carl's concerns about me not being able to handle it emotionally and he made me see things as I have never seen them before.

There are more sides to social work than fixing a situation or a person who is broken. There are all kinds of people in need who are not being abused or neglected, but just need someone to check in on them or keep them company, help them buy groceries, play games with them. They are the older people in our communities. Bill (the other attorney) suggested I look into specializing in the elder community because of the advanced need in the DFW area. That, to me, was so heartening and totally changed the way I was looking at not just social work, but counseling in general. Not everyone is broken. Some people just need help living day by day.

Amen to that.

kellbelle at 12:19 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

0 comments so far

previous | next