2006-02-02

I don't like liars

It amazes me sometimes how many lies I come across in diaries. I won't say how I know for a fact that they are lies... and I don't just mean outright statements like I did this or that. Mostly people lie to themselves rather than to try and fool us... the reader.

I'm still sucked into the diary I said I can't stand reading. But I read it out of disbelief that this person is still trying to convince themselves ... or maybe it is to convince other people ... that they are doing "okay" or that their actions are "okay".

I realize this is a forum for people to say whatever they want, but when you state that "This diary is for me to work out my problems and be honest with myself" and then NOT be honest with yourself... I don't know... that sometimes screams at me to comment. I never do though. But I don't know what is worse... to leave a comment and be cool and callous or to sit and silently judge someone. Neither one of those things are good, I know.

As a social worker in training, I'm supposed to see things from the other person's point of view. The sad thing is that I can see things from the point of view of lots of people, but what I don't understand is why people can't (or refuse to) see the help that is around them. I understand all about patterns and how a "bad" pattern is a lot more comfortable than seeking a new path and possibly being rejected. It's tough seeing people live in denial and it's even harder to watch them take the same path over and over leading to the same mistakes each time. I hope I can overcome the part of me that feels frustrated with that. If not overcome it, to find some way to turn it into a positive force for someone else.

kellbelle at 3:22 p.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

4 comments so far

previous | next