2006-03-21

Should I play hookie?

I've been thinking about playing hookie today from school. I need some time to study and just have some quiet time. Carl is at work and Aubrey will be at school and I think I can be a good girl and not goof off and waste the day. I've only missed one day of class so far this year because I was feeling sick, but I think a study day is appropriate, don't you? (please insert "Yes, by all means" here)

I worked at the volunteer place last night and I'm getting the hang of things. I'm still doing intake on new people. I think by the fall they may try to get me more training on how to counsel people. You seem to have to know a LOT of stuff to tell people. You have to know ages that are appropriate for different things. Like last night we had a guy who was 50 who got a Selective Service notice. The thing is, he should have filled one out a long time ago when he came to this country, but back then he didn't know. It turns out he actually missed the qualifications by one year of age, so he was okay. I think the oldest you have to be is 26 and he was 27 when he came here or something like that. Another thing, if you're over 50 when you come here, you can take the naturalization test in your own language.

I'm still not sure what I want my specialization to be, but I'm thinking children and families... counseling still. I'm less and less interested in CPS (Child Protective Services) as I keep hearing horror stories of the late hours and awful co-workers. CPS is in the process of privitization though, so things may get better when they convert all the regions over to privately run offices. Home visits will still be done outside the privitization though.

Well I'd better get Aubrey to school and get myself in the shower. I'll probably change my mind about staying home once I"m showered, We'll just have to see how I feel. Have a great day!

kellbelle at 7:12 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next