2006-10-28

Baroque Sushi Night

We went out for sushi last night with Shannon and John and then went to a Baroque concert at UNT. It was really beautiful and while I thought Aubrey wouldn't last the entire concert (2 hours with no intermission), she absolutely loved it.

Parts of the concert really made me miss singing in a choir. I used to do Handel's Messiah every year as well as other concert choir type things, but in the end I don't miss the ultimate feeling of "competition".

I did have to laugh at one girl last night. For the most part the choir is supposed to dress all alike. The girls wear all black and the men black tuxes with white shirts. There was one girl, a soloist for one song, that wore a very low cut black top and a gigantic string of pearls. When I was in choir, there was always one person who wanted to stand out from everyone else... the prima donna. This girl had a really amazing voice, but she did not look at all like she wanted to be there. No smiling, no emotional expression what so ever when she was singing. I'm reminded of someone I went to school with that was like that. Wanted to always be heard, but never seemed to "enjoy" herself or her beautiful gift. One thing I've learned, never take your gifts for granted... they might be gone (or taken away from you) one day.

Back to having Sushi, I was really proud of Aubrey. She tried a lot of things I never thought in a million years she would try. She had a sunburst roll (shrimp tempura with crab) and also tried some of the guy's eel roll! I wasn't even up for trying that. LOL I had chicken teriyaki and a few California rolls. I couldn't even eat it all.

Well, today I'm going to try to get Carl to take me to Costco to see about a membership. He wants to re-grout the back shower. I told him he'll have two weeks after I have the baby to do that stuff. He's taking all his vacation then. I hope he still plans on that. He really needs the time off.

Well, I suppose I should get moving. I have studying to do as well this weekend and sitting here is not helping me remember how a bill becomes a law in Texas.

kellbelle at 9:22 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

1 comments so far

previous | next