2005-12-09

Emotional Blackmail

The ex's sister called last night to see about meeting up to take Aubrey for some time at Christmas. I told her that Aubrey is NOT keen on spending the night. I guess she just thought I meant on Christmas night because then she suggested the night of the 23rd. I told her to talk to Aubrey about it. I shouldn't have. The bitch used emotional blackmail saying "Your daddy would really like it if you came." Aubrey was already decided that she would spend some time with them during the day. Now she doesn't want to go at all. I told her that her dad's family has NO idea what her daddy thinks she should do, because her daddy is with Jesus and they can't talk to him anymore. Her daddy wants her to be happy. I told her that if she doesn't want to go that I won't make her go. It would not make any of us happy to know that she was sitting somewhere sad and feeling bad. That made her feel better, but I could still hear her crying in her room when she went to bed.

Why the need for emotional blackmail when I had already convinced her that she could go and see them and spend time with them? What the hell are they trying to do??? I don't know how to fight this. I don't know how to stop them from putting her and, ultimately, me through this crap. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm open to all possibilities right now because it's driving me crazy.

It seems that ever time I make concessions and "do the right thing" and allow them to have access to her, they try to get as much from the situation as they can without any regard to the cost of her emotions. That's what kills me... it's almost as if I enable them to do it. I guess that's what I beat myself up over the most.

I'm so glad that I have this place to write this stuff out or it would absolutely drive me insane. LOL Thanks for all your great comments, the advice and encouragement. You are truly a blessing to me.

kellbelle at 7:54 a.m.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

4 comments so far

previous | next